Thirty kids was too many last week.

So this time I had 8 kids sign up for 2-week Thursday Cooking Club at recess.

Fairness was very important, so the signing up process required signs, an announcement, and a very important clipboard for showing who signed up and who would have to wait. The purpose of the cooking club is to involve students who find recess “boring” and need something to do. After a few gentle let-downs that the class was already full for this time around, I ended up with a group of eight girls in diverse friend groups. This was perfect to start with because part of the purpose is to practice making conversation with acquaintances and spending free time with new people.

So last Thursday,  we did Artisan Bread Part I. I used the recipe I love at home to make my own bread. It’s simple in ingredients, is fun to measurement-experiment with, and can be spread out in 2 or 3 sessions. Here is the recipe I rely on: Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day

We broke up into three groups to make the dough with flour, water, yeast, and salt. Next week they will each shape their own loaf for baking.

 

File_000

Cooking Club makes bread dough and discovers that it is fun to play with

